Jon and Rachel – our new gappers

They have been been with us for less than two weeks and already Jon and Rachel, our two new ‘gappers’ have brought a tangible enthusiasm to their work with tons of energy!  In the ‘Step into the Gap’ programme Jon and Rachel will spend the year working in the Chaplaincy Team at St Mary’s College, Blackpool.  Here they introduce themselves….

Rachel

I have recently graduated with a degree in Religious Studies from Lancaster University.

I am deeply passionate about social and environmental justice, and in finding ways to cooperate with others in order to make the world a fair place. I was a committed member of People and Planet society at University, which runs student campaigns on global poverty, human rights and the environment.

As part of my degree course, I had the privilege of studying abroad in India. I learned so much through this experience, and came face-to-face with examples of abject poverty, which are an everyday reality for so millions of people today.

I am from a small town near Bristol, and my family have had an active involvement in our Parish for many years. In my spare time, I enjoy doing art, listening to music, going to festivals, and seeing friends.

I am inspired by my faith, the meaning of Deus Caritas Est, God is Love, and by people who want to make a difference. In the future, I want to work for charity in order to help those who are in need, and to stand in solidarity with those caught in injustice.

Jon

Hi, I’m Jonathan Lord and I’m delighted to be one of CAFOD’s ‘Gappers’ this year!

I’m 21, from Poulton-le-Fylde, which is just outside Blackpool so I’ll be right at home working at St Mary’s.

I’ve just completed a degree in Journalism at the University of Central Lancashire which was challenging and thoroughly enjoyable. The skills I’ve learnt should help me to communicate CAFOD and its amazing work in our diocese.

The challenge of ‘Step into the Gap’ is something which really excites me. Working with CAFOD’s local partners overseas and seeing some of the projects that are changing people’s lives is a unique opportunity.

There is a great joy in working with young people and their enthusiasm is infectious. My desire is to engage young people at St Mary’s, in the local primary schools and parishes with CAFOD and how we are all connected in our world. I’ve always been inspired by the words of Nelson Mandela: “Sometimes it falls on a generation to be great. You can be that great generation. Let your greatness blossom.”

I would love to be involved in youth ministry or chaplaincy work in the future where I can be part of a great generation.

Jon and Rachel at Ride the Lights

Leave a Reply

