CAFOD the Lamb goes to school in Kenya

Hello! Yesterday CAFOD the Lamb had a very good day, and is bubbling with stories he wants to say, so I think it’s best that he tells you about it himself!  Rachel : )

Salama rafiki! (Peace my friend!)

‘Ow are you? I hope you are well and happy – I have so much that I want to tell you!

We have arrived in Nairobi- the capital city of Kenya. Yesterday I went to a Primary School and Nursery called ‘Laini Saba’ in Kibera. My oh my, what a fun time I had!

CAFOD the Lamb visits Laini Saba

It is a very big School, with almost 500 students, and it has children from very young to about 14 or 15 years old. The School is run by some lovely Sisters of the Sacred Heart.

‘Laini Saba’ means 7th line, because it is so close to a railway line. How many Schools do you know in England that are named after a train stop? Well, I have to say that Laili Saba is not like any other School I’ve ever been to!

You may be thinking what makes Laini Saba special? You see, it’s the place where it is that makes it unique. Laini Saba is right in the middle of Kibera slum, which is a very, very big area of Nairobi (it is the 2nd biggest slum in Africa).

 

A view of roof tops from the houses in Kibera from a school window

The children and mums and dads who live in Kibera are very poor, and find it difficult to get clean water and even a good meal to fill their tummies. The children’s houses are small and very close together. It is like a forest of people.

Honestly though, you wouldn’t be able to guess Laini Saba was in Kibera if I hadn’t told you. The children in the School were bursting with joy and life… and were so happy to see us! I could also tell that the Teachers really cared for the children, and had big hopes for them. So many big smiles, it makes me happy just thinking about it.

Here’s me with the Nursery children and Inviolata, their teacher

I was very lucky to spend a whole day in Laini Saba. Before I made my journey to Kenya, many children in Primary Schools in Poulton and Blackpool wrote messages and drew pictures for children in Kenya. So the first thing we did was to give children in Class 7 the letters to read.

Reading a cool profile from Jenny

They were very impressed, and loved how lots of children in England wanted to write to them. Some of them also had lots of questions too, like, “what time is it in England?” and “what is macaroni pizza?”

Once the children had read their letters from England, we asked them to write their own. I was so happy to hear their messages… they were truly amazing!

Writing their own profiles - they loved it!

I will tell you much more about it when I get back, but just for now here’s a message from a girl called Lucy: “I would like to say, that you be friendly with each other, love each other with God’s Love, and always try very hard to become what you want to be. I love you.”  Wow, how very kind Lucy!

 

Outside in the playground

When someone rung the bell, it was time for PE. My friend Jon led the lesson, and taught the Class how the play ‘Over and Under’. It took them a little while to get it, but once they did I felt like I was at a Sports Day.

We also played ‘Hot Potato’ with some spongy balls. Even though it was fun and I enjoyed it, I’m sadly not very good at catching!

‘Hot potato’

 

CAFOD chilling out after P.E.

After having a yummy lunch, we had a music lesson with Class 5 Rosa taught the children lots of songs, like ‘If you’re happy and you know it’ and ‘Old Macdonald’… but it turned out that the Class knew most of them anyway!

They taught us many traditional Kenyan rhymes in Swahili. They really went to town! They jumped up and danced, and the walls were echoing with their voices. It was incredible, I wish every music lesson could be such a party!

See those children dance!

So that was the end of the School day, and what a day it had been! I wish you could have been there.

On our way home, we made a special visit to a lovely lady named Auntie Florence’s house, who has a boy and a girl at Laini Saba School.

On the street where Florence lives

I’m very glad I met Auntie Florence because I thought she was ace. Her job is to make beaded necklaces, bracelets and earrings, and to sell to people in the market in Kibera. The jewellery was so colourful, and it was very cleverly made too. Auntie Florence makes them from recycled paper, which she winds up very tightly to make a pretty bead.

 

Auntie Florence showing us how it’s done

Did I buy some you ask? Of course I did!

CAFOD the Lamb showing off the jewellery Florence made

 

CAFOD and Rachel all beaded up

So when I wear my necklace and bracelet I will remember the people who I met in Kibera. Auntie Florence was happy that we bought them, and told us that now her children could have something to eat tonight. That is why I think that every one of these beads is precious, just like the brilliant people who I met in Kibera that day.

Thanks very much for reading!
Lots of love,

CAFOD the Lamb  xxx  (and Rachel xxx)

 

2 thoughts on “CAFOD the Lamb goes to school in Kenya

  1. Hi Rachel and CAFOD,
    We have really enjoyed CAFOD the lamb’s exploits, and of course your blogs have been truly moving and incredibly interesting. I’m sure the children at home are very much looking forward to reading the Laini Saba School profiles.
    How does CAFOD stay as white as snow in all that dust?
    Enjoy your remaining time in Kenya.

  2. Actually CAFOD the Lamb is quite grubby now – you can’t tell from the photos! He needs a good bath when he gets home!

    I think he’s having a great time, but he’s whispered to me that he misses the children from Our Ladyof the Assumption Catholic Primary School in Blackpool. He’ll soon be home though : )

    Bye for now from a very sunny Nairobi.

    Rosa x

Leave a Reply

