Introducing Bernie….

We’re really pleased to welcome Bernie to CAFOD’s Step into the Gap programme, based in Blackpool.

To get to know her a little better, we asked her 20 random questions…..

Gappers 1a

Here’s Bernie, at the centre of the gappers

 

If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be and why?

I’m not sure, I like moving around different places but I would say I am a home girl so anywhere in South Yorkshire.

 

taxiWhat was your first job?

My first job was working on a taxi switch board for my uncle’s taxi business.

 

 

What would be your dream job?

Anything around working with young people

 

Most played song on your iPod?

Lucy Spraggan – Someone

 

If you could have one superpower, what would it be and why?

It sounds weird but I’m quite happy helping out without a super power.

 

If you could host a dinner party and invite anyone from history, who would make the guest list?

Ummmm I would invite family members who aren’t around anymore as I like finding out about family history and discovering traits that are passed down.

 

What is your favourite food?pot noodle

I do like a Pot Noodle.

 

………sport?

Rather not.

 

 

How to lose a guy      …..…film?

‘How to lose a guy in 10 days’

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

..……TV programme?

Big Bang Theory.

 

…….…favourite smell?

I like strong smelling jelly belly products.

 

………childhood memory?

I don’t really have a favourite but I do have a strange detailed memory and love to reminisce and remind my friends of things they have forgotten.

 

What was the last book you read?

I’m not really a reader so it would be my uni reader.

 

Do you have any guilty pleasures?

No.

 

If someone gave you £500, what would you spend it on (other than CAFOD of course)?

Take my sisters on a few adventures, make some memories.

 

night owlAre you a morning person or a night owl?

More of a night owl.

 

What’s your favourite thing so far about St Mary’s Catholic College in Blackpool?

The students and staff are really welcoming and friendly  – a real community feeling.

 

Why do you enjoy working with CAFOD?

Learning more about the world and the people in it. I’m the kind of person who believes that the story of a person is vital and CAFOD is a hands on get to know people charity, which builds on the skills of people to be independent.

 

What are you most looking forward to this year?

Being on the next part of the journey and experiencing something new.

 

What do you think you will find most challenging about ‘Step into the Gap’?

Not sure until I face it.

 

If you had the power to change one thing in our world what would it be?ronaldo

I would put wage restrictions on footballers so that they all earn the same wage as normal people and spend the remainder of the money on more worthwhile causes.

 

 

We’re very much looking forward to working alongside Bernie and her fellow gapper Kieron this year.  You’ll be hearing more about what Bernie and Kieron get up to as the year progresses through this blog – so watch this space.

Welcome Bernie – it’s so good to have you with us!

Here's bernie with Kieron, and with Hannah, Leila and Steph (gappers from Salford Diocese) at CAFOD's launch of the One Climate One World Campaign

Here’s Bernie with Kieron, and with Hannah, Leila and Steph (gappers from Salford Diocese) at CAFOD’s launch of the One Climate One World Campaign in Manchester

Leave a Reply

