Celebrating our Volunteers

CAFOD Education volunteer, Frances Fordyce, shares with us her volunteering in schools in Lancaster diocese……

frances-1

Frances talking about CAFOD in school

I’m a CAFOD Schools volunteer and member of the Primary Advisory workshop team. I have also provided CAFOD El Salvador Geography INSET for teachers.

After retiring from education I was looking for something to be involved with. I decided to volunteer with CAFOD.

That was 4 years ago and since then I have had the privilege to visit lots of different schools and attend training.

There have been many special moments especially when speaking and working with children. I was at my parish church and a small child shouted ‘Hello Miss, you’re the CAFOD lady’.

francis-2

Frances with the school children at a CAFOD assembly

I have delivered assemblies and workshops to Primary children, helped staff prepare their own Harvest assembly, worked alongside a Chaplain in a Secondary school and was privileged to tell lots of Year 5 & 6 pupils about CAFOD as part of the Lancaster Diocese Schools Year of Mercy Pilgrimage.

Volunteering has given me the opportunity to give something – it’s great to go into schools and work with the children.  It’s very rewarding and I would certainly recommend it – take the plunge and get involved.

 

Leave a Reply

